Health Quality Council of Alberta - Board of Directors

Hawranik, Pamela

Dr. Pamela Hawranik is a Professor at Athabasca University and previously held the role of Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies and interim Associate Vice President Research. She holds a PhD in Health Policy and Evaluation from the Faculty of Medicine, and a Masters of Nursing and Bachelor of Nursing from the University of Manitoba. She has been on numerous provincial and national boards, such as Canadian Nurses Association, Western Deans of Graduate Studies, Canadian Hospice & Palliative Care Association, and various long term care facilities.

Johnson, Clifford

Clifford D. Johnson, Q.C., ICD.D, is a seasoned lawyer and businessman. He is a retired member of the Law Society of Alberta and past member of the Law Society of England and Wales. He spent 20 years at a major international law firm. Positions included National Management Committee, Calgary Managing Partner and Energy Group Leader. business, non-profit, private club and education organization positions have included Chairman, CEO, President, EVP, Director and Corporate Secretary. Extensive governance experience as an advisor.

Peracha, Mohammad

Masood Peracha is a senior financial and risk management professional, with extensive health care and public sector systems auditing, compliance and business consulting experience. Mr. Peracha holds a Master of Business Administration degree, along with several professional designations including Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA). He is also an active member of several professional and community-based organizations, with his current roles as Chair and Co-Chair on two community-based boards in Edmonton. Following his retirement from Alberta Pensions Services Corporation, Mr. Peracha currently serves as President of Apex GRC Consulting Inc., which provides Enterprise Risk Management, Internal Audit, Control Assurance and Compliance services to public and private sector clients.

Powell, Dwight

Dwight Gregory Powell is a retired physician who volunteers time related to improving the Health Care System. Greg is chair of the Patient Family Advisory Committee and sits as a Board Member of the Foothills Country Hospice Society. Greg has trained as a specialist in Emergency Medicine. He received the Order of Canada, was inducted into the Canadian Aviation Hall of Fame and has other career related awards. Greg holds a BSc and M.D. from UBC, certification in Family Medicine from U of C (ret.) and a FRCPC from McGill. He is currently Professor Emeritus from Family and Emergency Medicine at U of C.

Volume-Smith, Carlyn

Dr. Carlyn Volume-Smith is a Chief Stakeholder Relations Officer at the Alberta School Employee Benefit Plan (ASEBP). She has over two decades of health care administration experience with expertise in shaping operational and clinical teams in the health care and health benefit insurance sectors. Carlyn is a licensed Clinical Pharmacist who holds a Masters Degree (Health Promotion) and a Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical Sciences, focussing on the impact of health policy changes on patients and clinicians.

Colville, Jacquelyn

Jacquelyn Colville is an experienced executive and community leader, with a demonstrated commitment to governance and extensive experience serving on and advising boards. She has been involved with the HQCA Board as an external member and Audit Committee Chair since August 2017. Currently, she is the Chair of the Funding Priorities Committee of the Stollery Children's Hospital Foundation, as well as the CFO of Midnight Sun Financial. Jacquelyn holds the ICD.D designation, and is a CPA, CA, BComm.