Campus Alberta Quality Council

Goldberg, Jeffrey

Dr. Jeff Goldberg is a retired Professor of Biological Sciences from the University of Alberta and University of Calgary. While at the University of Alberta, he served as Associate Dean in the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research and Chair of two NSERC grant selection committees. At the University of Calgary, he served as Head of the Department of Biological Sciences. He joined Mount Royal University, serving as Dean of the Faculty of Science and Technology for five years and Interim Provost and Vice President Academic for fifteen months. His neurobiology research used marine slugs and freshwater snails as model organisms to study a variety of biomedical and evolutionary questions, including the neurophysiological mechanisms of learning and memory, nerve cell growth, and adaptations to low oxygen and high temperature during embryonic development.

Prud'homme-Genereux, Annie

Dr. Annie Prud’homme-Généreux is the current Vice President of Science at TELUS World of Science (Edmonton) where she is enthusiastic about science outreach into the community. She was one of the five founding faculty at Quest University Canada in British Columbia, where she collaborated with a small group of academics to develop a broad education for engaged global citizens. At Quest, she also served as Chair, Life Sciences and Vice President Research and Administration. She was recognized with the 2012 National Association of Biology Teachers’ Award for innovative teaching. She is passionate about educational development and helping other instructors achieve their classroom goals.

Stubbs, John

Dr. John Stubbs is a retired Professor of History at Simon Fraser University where he also served as President and Vice-Chancellor. He was previously President and Vice Chancellor of Trent University, and was also an Associate Dean in the Faculty of Arts at the University of Waterloo. He has taught International and British History. Since 2008, he has been a member, and more recently, Vice-Chair, of the British Columbia Degree Quality Assessment Board.

Zutter, Cynthia

Biography not available

Rogers, Gayla

Dr. Gayla Rogers is a professor emerita of Social Work at the University of Calgary. After 12 years as Dean of the Faculty of Social Work, she served four years as Senior Advisor to the Provost building leadership capacity in senior academic leaders. She is well-published, has held federally funded research grants, and has provided consultation to social work programs in Canada, United States, United Kingdom, Australia, and New Zealand. Dr. Rogers has served as a director on boards of numerous non-profit organizations at the local, provincial, and national levels, and she spent seven years on the Council for Quality Assurance for Children’s Services.

Zinck, Arlette

Dr. Arlette Zinck is Professor of English and a former Dean of the Faculty of Arts at The King’s University. In this role, she sat on the Academic Affairs Committee that oversees new program development and evaluates existing programs not only in the Faculty of Arts, but also in the professional schools as well as the Natural and Social Science faculties. Dr. Zinck is the Executive Director of PSPEF: Post-Secondary Prison Education Foundation and a 3M National Teaching Fellow.

McGinn, Fred

Dr. Fred McGinn is a professor with the Faculty of Health and Community Studies at MacEwan University. He served seven years as the Director of the Dalhousie University School of Health and Human Performance and five years as dean of the MacEwan University Faculty of Health and Community Studies, including the additional role of interim dean of the Faculty of Nursing. He holds a Doctor of Philosophy degree from Southern Illinois University at Carbondale, a Master of Arts degree from Western Michigan University, and a Bachelor of Arts degree from Dalhousie University.

McPherson, Moira

Dr. Moira McPherson serves as Lakehead University’s President & Vice-Chancellor and is a member of the COU Executive Heads and of Universities Canada’s International and Governance Committees. As Provost & Vice-President (Academic) at Lakehead University, she previously served two terms on the Ontario Universities Council on Quality Assurance, and she as a member of the Executive Committee for the Ontario Council of Academic Vice-Presidents. She holds a PhD specializing in Applied Biomechanics from the University of Alberta and a Master of Science degree specializing in Biomechanics and Bachelor of Science degree in Physical Education from the University of New Brunswick.

Doherty, Jaclyn

Dr. Jaclyn Doherty is the Dean for the Centre of Teaching and Learning and Innovation at Lethbridge College. Previously, she was the Manager of Curriculum and Learning Experience Design at the college. Dr. Doherty has a strong understanding of Alberta’s colleges and their role in the broader post-secondary sector, and she has experience working with the systems that contribute to post-secondary quality assurance. Dr. Doherty holds a Doctorate in Educational Leadership from Western University, where her dissertation focused on promoting innovation, interdisciplinary teamwork, and collaboration in higher education.

Nixon, Gordon

Dr. Gordon Nixon is the former Vice President Academic and Dean of Information and Communications Technologies at SAIT Polytechnic. He has served on a number of academic and business committees and boards provincially, and nationally.

McQuillan, Kevin

Dr. Kevin McQuillan is a Research Fellow at the School of Public Policy, University of Calgary and has overseen the university’s Quality Assurance Unit Review processes. He was previously Professor of Sociology and served as Dean of Social Science, Dean of Arts and Deputy Provost at the University of Calgary. Prior to this, he was Chair of the Department of Sociology at Western University and represented Western as its Academic Colleague at the Council of Ontario Universities. He holds a PhD from Princeton University and has published widely in the field of demography.