Expert Committee on Drug Evaluation and Therapeutics

Guirguis, Micheal

Micheal Guirguis is a Drug Stewardship pharmacist who works with Alberta Heath Services to optimize use of drug in Alberta's Health system.

Micheal Guirguis has held several Board positions in Edmonton Community Leagues and Condominium Cooperations and is currently Treasurer of the Edmonton Jazz Society

Micheal Guirguis holds a Doctorate Degree in Pharmaceutical sciences with a Specialty in Clinical Pharmacokinetics from the University of Alberta.

Altman, Daniel

Dr. Daniel Altman is an adult respirologist who works primarily with individals with lung disease.

Daniel has worked on a number of boards and committees throughout his training. Highlights include working as the Chair of the Maritime Resident Doctors Executive Board.

Daniel has previously won awards for his research, including the 2017 CSCI-CIHR Resident Research Award, and the CHEST 2016 Annual Meeting Young Investigator Award.

Myers, Nicholas

Nick Myers is a Family Physician who works with residents of Bragg Creek and surrounding areas to provide clinical services. He also works as a Provincial Medical Director in Primary Care for Alberta Health Services

Nick has served in the past as the co- chair or the Foothills Primary Care Network (PCN) and as a Governance Committee Member for Calgary West Central PCN.

Nick qualified from the Middlesex Hospital, London UK and holds BSc and MB BS degrees . He is currently undertaking an MSc in Health Economics and Policy at the London School

Clarke, Caitlin

Caitlin Clarke is a community pharmacist born and raised in Barrhead, Alberta. Ms. Clarke received both her Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy and Post-Professional Doctor of Pharmacy Degrees from the University of Alberta. She has since returned to her home town to practice. She has been a member of the Expert Committee on Drug Evaluation and Therapeutics since 2016. Ms. Clarke is well-involved in her community and a long-time volunteer with Girl Guides of Canada.

Ladhani, Naeem

Naeem Ladhani received his Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy degree from the University of Alberta, and he subsequently completed industrial pharmacy residency training at the University of Toronto. Mr. Ladhani is a licensed pharmacist and is currently Manager of Provincial Outpatient Pharmacy Contracts at Alberta Health Services. He continues to practice as a clinical pharmacist at independent pharmacies on a casual basis. Mr. Ladhani has a great interest in healthcare, policy and governance. He currently serves on the Alberta Out of Country Health Services Appeal Panel, the Alberta College of Pharmacists Hearing Tribunal and the Canadian Council of Accreditation of Pharmacy Programs Accreditation Committee for Pharmacy Technician Programs. He previously served on the Board of Directors of the Canadian Association for Population Therapeutics as well as on the University of Alberta Senate and the University of Alberta Academic Planning Committee.

Gray, Margaret

Margaret Gray has been a clinical pharmacist in Alberta for over 20 years. She is passionate about the need for patient centred care, and the use of evidence based decision making to best inform choices. Ms. Gray has worked in a variety of hospital settings through her career, at the bedside, as well as in roles where formulary, and appropriateness of use decisions needed to be made on a broader scale. She has experience with reviewing various levels of evidence in the literature, and condensing that data into informed decision making tools for drugs & therapeutics committees, as well as frontline practitioners. In all of these roles, she has kept the best care of patients as the focus of her work. Ms. Gray continues to have a clinical practice in infectious diseases, in addition to working on the broader support of clinical practice throughout Edmonton and North zones at Alberta Health Services. Ms. Gray remains committed to her community through volunteering at her children's schools, dance studio, and with her local community league.