Alberta Utilities Commission

Dahl Rees, Carolyn

Carolyn Dahl Rees has over 35 years’ experience as a regulatory and commercial lawyer in Alberta, with a career that has spanned private, corporate and public practice. She has focused for a number of years on the electricity industry, with her most recent corporate role involving the management of legal, trading compliance and operations compliance functions for a major electricity generator, with a focus on electricity market rules and reliability standards across North America. Ms. Dahl Rees is a seasoned adjudicator in regulatory proceedings in Alberta, having served for over 20 years as a Member of the Alberta Utilities Commission, the Alberta Energy and Utilities Board, as an Acting Member of the Alberta Natural Resources Conservation Board and for other provincial, federal and municipal tribunals as well. Ms. Dahl Rees was admitted to the Alberta Bar in 1982 after completing her studies at Rice University (BA) and the University of Toronto (MA, LLB).

Larder, Douglas

Mr. Larder is the AUC's general counsel. His primary responsibility is to ensure that the Commission receives sound legal advice and representation in all areas of the Commission's operations and has a sound governance structure in place. He is the FOIP Head, the chief governance officer, corporate secretary and chairs the Ethics Committee and the Risk and Opportunity Committee. He is also a member of the Executive Advisory Committee, the Commission’s senior management group.

Mr. Larder joined the Commission's predecessor, the Alberta Energy and Utility Board (AEUB) in 1997 and acted on its behalf in major public hearings related to oil and gas and electric energy facilities, resource disputes, utility rate-making matters and court of appeal challenges.

Mr. Larder was appointed general counsel of the AEUB in 2004 and continued in that capacity with the Alberta Utilities Commission when it was created in 2008. He was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 2006. He has sat as an acting Commission member for the Commission and as an acting board member at the AEUB. Prior to 1997, Mr. Larder was in private legal practice in Calgary, mostly focused on litigation.

He has a bachelor of arts degree, and a bachelor of law degree from Dalhousie University, in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Price, Cairns

Biography not available

Slawinski, Vera

Biography not available

Kostesky, Vincent

Biography not available

Oliver, Matthew

Matthew Oliver is an engineering and regulatory leader who is serving as Chief Regulatory Officer for the engineering and geoscience professions. He has experience in governance roles as an Appeals Commissioner and member of the Board of Governors and Senate of a university. He is a licensed professional engineer who holds degrees in engineering from the Royal Military College of Canada and a degree in divinity from the University of Emmanuel College. Matthew is a veteran of the Royal Canadian Air Force and a citizen of the Metis Nation.

McCarthy, John

John McCarthy is a Professional Engineer who has been a Member of the Alberta Land and Property Rights Tribunal since 2017 as well as working as an independent engineering consultant.  Previously, John held a series of senior positions are within the National Energy Board and the private sector related to safety, environment, and energy and regulatory economics. John has an MBA from the University of Calgary and is currently a volunteer Board Member with the Calgary Homeless Foundation.

Marx, Renee

Renée Marx is a regulatory lawyer with experience in all facets of the utilities and energy sectors. Renée's experience includes roles at transmission and generation companies, and a consulting firm, where she provided strategic legal and regulatory advice on complex facility and rate applications, market issues and policy development.

Renée's regulatory work spans Alberta, BC, Ontario, and the Yukon. Renée received a bachelor of laws and bachelor of arts from UCalgary, and a regulatory leadership certification from UOttawa.

Sebalj, Kristi

Kristi Sebalj is a graduate of McMaster University where she received both a Bachelor and Master of Science in biology. She also received her Bachelor of Laws and a Certificate in Marine Environmental Law from Dalhousie University. She is a member of the Nova Scotia Barristers' Society and of the Law Society of Upper Canada (Ontario).

Ms. Sebalj has been immersed in the energy and utilities sectors in Canada for almost two decades starting on the East Coast during the development of the Sable Offshore Energy Project and eventually in Ontario during the period leading up to and following the opening of the competitive electricity market.

Ms. Sebalj has worked in a corporate, regulatory and litigation capacity in both the energy and environmental fields and in the private and public sectors. She was a partner and co-chair of the Energy Group at McMillan LLP working on behalf of project proponents and utilities and was most recently at the Ontario Energy Board (OEB) working for the regulator overseeing those facilities and utilities. Ms. Sebalj was most recently the Registrar at the OEB where she was a decision maker, team leader and executive advisor. In this post, she oversaw the OEB's adjudicative processes, administered commissioner training and designed and directed the implementation of a far-reaching consumer engagement framework.

Arthur, Michael

Michael Arthur is an Alberta-based independent management consultant. Prior to beginning his own business, he held several progressively more senior positions with both regulated and non-regulated utilities, as well as senior executive roles within global power engineering and consulting firms.

He is a former director of TW Power Services, Veckta, and the Alberta Triathlon Association.

MIchael holds a degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Saskatchewan and is a registered Professional Engineer in the province of Alberta.

Frehlich, Dennis

Dennis Frehlich, P.Eng., is an experienced senior executive in the electric industry with over 35 years of executive management, leadership, engineering and operations expertise. Dennis, in his executive roles, has worked extensively with company boards and board subcommittees including safety, environment, projects, audit, and operations. Dennis holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Saskatchewan and is a member of APEGA.

Hawkins, Doug

Doug is a senior executive who recently retired after 25 years of service with the City of Lethbridge, the last 16 of those years as City Engineer and Director of Infrastructure Services.

Doug is a past board member of Cybera, a digital technology not-for-profit agency.

Doug is a professional engineer and active member of APEGA and a certified municipal manager.

Doug holds a Bachelor Degree in Engineering and Management from the Royal Military of Canada.